Sunset – Fenced In {Paris}

Paris Sunset - Fenced In

7 thoughts on “Sunset – Fenced In {Paris}

  1. What made you decide to go for a shallow depth of field? Only the middle of the silhouette is sharp. Not complaining, just wondering!

    Lovely colours!

    Have a lovely Sunday and kind regards,
    Tieme

    • Hi Tieme, I tend not to take questions as complaints anyway – they’re my pictures and I can take them any way I want, that’s my motto *lol*

      No, seriously, this pic was taken a year ago so I’m trying to remember why I did that; I used a 105mm macro lens, so I guess that was the main reason it turned out with a shallow depth of field. I do remember looking at it on the camera display and not being sure about it but keeping it anyway “just in case”. So now after almost exactly a year I revisited my unedited Paris pics and quite liked that one.

      It was very crowded on top of the Arc de Triomphe, you could only ever have a tiny piece of space to yourself without having people in the picture, and so I think the shallow depth of field was a mix of lens choice and space available.

      Have a good & relaxing Sunday!

  2. Hi Kiki,

    Thank you for your time and comprehensive reply 🙂 I share your motto, however I want to be as open minded as possible, as long as I like it – wow that paradox 😉

    Ah the 105 macro lens, do you like it? I recently bough a reverse ring for my D7100 and 50mm lens. Quite cool – and only 1,5 dollar in a Chinese webstore!

    Revisiting old photos is a great idea, just to look back at how you have improved or changed. And to see if you see something now in those pictures, you’ve missed back then.

    Thank you, you too 🙂
    Tieme

    • Yes, I like the 105 macro; it started out as a borrowed lens from a friend who wanted me to try it. I liked it so much I asked if I could buy it off him as he didn’t use it anymore. Then – as you do with new lenses, I guess – I used only this lens for a very long time. I have to admit it’s been sitting in my camera bag for most of this year because now I love my 50mm lens more 🙂 But I do still use it and I still like it.

      • Haha I surely recognize the “new lens always being on the camera” 😉 I haven’t used anything other since purchasing my Nifty Fifty.

        I even plan doing some landscape photography with it leaving my Nikon 10-24 in the bag for a while (which is one of my favorite lenses).

Have your say!

